MelGaBon Part 2

Posted on Updated on

Aaannd we’re back!

 

Big Mama on Swanston St

Image

A tiny restaurant in the city…

Image

Heh heh heh… would you believe these were the ONLY photos of Big Mama? Whut? Non-food photos?! Blasphemy!!

I know, I know… what a disappointment!

But that’s just it! Food was TOO yummylicious for me to pause for the obligatory food-shots. Absence of such photos is the HIGHEST compliment I can give to Big Mama’s yummy home-cooked Korean dishes. We’ve frequented this place 4 times during my stay in Melbourne. Since its location is near Melbourne Uni, the prices are wallet-friendly too. Without fail, our side dishes were gobbled up before our main orders land on the table. In fact, we even (shamelessly) asked for 2nd and 3rd helpings!

Rating: FROMG (Freakin Redonkulous Oh Ma Gawd)

Max Brenner @ Westfield Mall

Also known as The Permutation Core of All Things Chocolate.

I had the funnest way of making my own Hot Choc drink ๐Ÿ™‚

Image

Milk and chocolate bits are served separately. You mix your own drink in the white mug+pot = mot? pog? over a tea-light candle (so your drink remains warm, and added choc chips can melt easily). My reaction was “is this For REAL?” So while I was busily having fun like a 5-year-old, my buddies enjoyed their share of choc heaven:

Image

Image

This was a kick-a** napkin. Awesome line drawing!

Rating: OMG+ (the + is for bringing out the 5-year old in me) ๐Ÿ™‚

Sorrento

Just when I thought I could escape from the lethal John Doe a.k.a Vanilla Square…

Guess where I met the Grand-daddy of them all?

The Force was not at optimum level for me that day, so I just HAD to order the Famous Vanilla Slice just so I can vouch that it was indeed the Grand Daddy of them all. Sorrento is a two-hour drive south of Melbourne, and my fab friends planned this day trip just so I could breathe in fresh crisp air from the ocean ๐Ÿ™‚

While waiting for our food, we saw this rather “unique” advertisement:

Car included? That’s pretty decent!

ย 

Because of John Doe, I opted to have this full-bodied French Onion Soup

“Come to the Daaark Siiiide…”

Rating: FROMG (Freakin Redonkulous Oh Ma Gawd) – Yup, this WAS the Grand Daddy of them all…

Fed Square

This pit stop was not planned at all. Really. We were there for MarkIt, Melbourne Designers Market @ Federation Square. After ooh-ing and aah-ing at the creative goods, we felt rather parched so we headed towards the humble cafe located at the atrium of Fed Square. Just as we were about to pay for our drinks, something big, round and enticing caught the corner of my eye.

Orange poppy muffin? I could literally feel myself salivating already, “Please add one of those muffins too thanks”

See those orange peel bits?ย  See those poppy seeds? CAN YOU SMELL IT?

After having my first orange muffin at Fed Square, I actually walked all the way from Bridge Road, in flip flops, just to have another one before I left Melbourne.

Rating: JDFROMG!! (Jaw Dropping Freakin Redonkulous Oh Ma Gawd) with BlingBlings!!

Upon my return from Down Under, I have yet to meet a muffin that could rival Fed Square’s Orange Poppy Muffin.
Let alone the Grand Daddy Vanilla Slice in Sorrento…

My dessert palate has turned to the Dark Side…

2 thoughts on “MelGaBon Part 2

    Kevlar Motorcycle Helmet said:
    April 26, 2012 at 11:54 am

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this – blog. I really hope to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own, personal blog now ๐Ÿ˜‰

      chom2 responded:
      May 6, 2012 at 1:31 am

      Thanks for your kind words! I was inspired by other bloggers too, thought I’d give it a shot ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

