ArtMart Prowl 4: The B.I.G Design Market

Posted on Updated on

<Taking a DEEEP Breath>…

This is IT folks!

The BIG Kahuna of ALL design markets on the Australian continent!
It has been more than a month since I walked up to the Royal Exhibition Building with IMMENSE anticipation… and am still about to spazz while writing this!

<exhale>

It was Friday, 9:30am, when I hopped on the 109 to get a head start into an awesome day. Well, the 20-minute walk up “Sadist Hill” from my BFFs’ home was certainly NOT any of the highlights of my days there, but heck, it’s The B.I.G Design Market weekend!!! EAU MA GERD!

Got off at St. Vincent’s stop just at the cusp of CBD zone and I could literally feel a sudden surge of adrenaline coursing thru my veins! LOL!!

Tote Bag? Check.
Extra tote bag for J.I.C situations? Check.
$$$? Check
Phone charger? Check
Keep CALM & BREATHE!! Check check

ArtMart Prowl 4: The B.I.G Design Market, Royal Exhibition Building, Carlton

bdm_01
Hello! Hellooo!!
bdm_02
One of the food trucks arrived early for lunch set up…
bdm_03
Spazz! Spazz! I’m so excited immabout to pee in my pants!… ok i think i REALLY gotta run to the restroom..
bdm_04
Normal people’s reaction: “Ok, we’re here…”   My reaction: “omigawdomigawdomigawd”
bdm_05
Excited Early Birds crowding at the Reception desk…
bdm_06
… which looks like this when the Madding Crowd disperses…
bdm_07
PAUSE. BREATHE. Take in the Beauty…
bdm_08
Centerpiece installation to designate dining zone…
bdm_09
Standing in the crowd, soaking in the exquisiteness… I’m about to weep… and I haven’t even LOOKED at the merchandise galore yet!
bdm_10
And the Serious Scouting begins!
bdm_11
there are many things to be thankful for… like maximum luggage weight of 30kgs… definitely sorts out my purchasing priorities!
bdm_12
YooHoo Otto! I see U!! LOVE yr stuff!
bdm_13
Apprentice sent a request for Skulk of Foxes merch… she’d go bonkers if she was here with me.
bdm_14
Gettin a bit crowded in here… and gettin cross-eyed too…
bdm_15
cool light fixtures
bdm_16
so many GORGEOUS things to NOT get!!
bdm_17
High Tea with Mrs Woo is HERE! The design collaboration between three sisters are an established brand from NSW.
bdm_18
Stop. Look. Drool. Smile. Walk away…
bdm_19
How Cute are Those?!!
bdm_20
…trudge, trudge, trudge…
bdm_21
Simple, collapsible bike stands… and those accessories look super cute too
bdm_22
I’ve only covered half of the Market and it’s lunch time already.. Yay for sunshine so that I can enjoy my Egg sandwich outdoors🙂
bdm_23
Food delivery service to the shopkeepers who literally can’t leave their booths. Great Idea!
bdm_24
Always packed with people…
bdm_25
Charming!
bdm_26
These terrariums were SO DETAILED!! There were magnifying glasses for patrons to truly appreciate the effort put into creating whimsical pieces…
bdm_27
At the quieter corner of the venue, another casual dining/ resting zone was created especially for those with young children.. and for nursing mothers too. Two thumbs up!
bdm_28
Great idea by Myrtle & Moss to provide simple luxury in the restrooms… and directions to their booth in the massive Market🙂
bdm_29
Gorgeous! Gorgeous!
bdm_30
LOL!! Chalk-pendant shade🙂 I LIKES!
bdm_31
Retro funky speakers, mates!
bdm_32
My favorite purchase of the day. Got a few more for loved ones. Renee Treml, U Rock!

Obviously, there were LOTS more I didn’t get to upload here. So, if you plan to visit Melbourne in 2014, get there when the BIG circus puts on a show….

I need to lie down now…

bdm_33
Tee Hee!!🙂

Leave a Reply

