A New Savvy King has Saved Me!

Posted on Updated on

After Secret Love Affair, I found it difficult to get hooked on another KDrama. The story-telling bar was pushed to the stratosphere that I became impatient and dissatisfied with sub-par ones (read Dr. Stranger – this one fell into FUBAR zone).

Seriously, I asked myself a few times if I would ever be as immersed and invested in a KDrama as I was with the epic SLA. Lee Seon Jae, you’ve pretty much became The Man of the Millennium in my books 😀

It took quite a while sifting through and testing my drama-osmosis level until I watched Episode 1 of High School King of Savvy.

HSKS-1

First off the hockey stick, it echoed SLA in terms of muted on-screen colors, albeit a much sunny version of SLA. The writers managed to pack in A LOT at the speed of power play period. The ensemble cast were Magnetic.

More importantly, the main characters were written with such exquisite believability. Sending cyber High Fives to writers Jo Sung Hee and Yang Hee Seung 😀

 

YEE-ESS!! I have finally found a worthy drama to follow!
[Insert cackling in the background]

Despite the age-gap between the main lead characters, I found it relatively easy to forget about that gap when Seo In Guk and Lee Ha Na perform on-screen. Heck, even their BTS interactions sizzled too 🙂

However, after watching Episode 9 just a few hours ago, I was FLOORED by the Sweetness and Adorkableness of their journey as a couple. I mean, you might just get cavities from this single episode.

Nevertheless, High School King of Savvy is definitely building its own legion of followers, and I’m just THANKFUL for such a quality production that I can sink my teeth into 🙂

In the words of Lee Min Suk: Thank You Very Kamsa!

Please click here for Savvy King updates.

5 thoughts on “A New Savvy King has Saved Me!

    Only said:
    July 15, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    I haven’t watched episode 9 yet, but I’m really enjoying this show, Seo In Guk in particular. He’s great as Lee Min Suk.

      chom2 responded:
      July 15, 2014 at 8:24 pm

      He is! I wasn’t as blown away watching him in Reply 1997, but HSK – gee golly!! The little gestures and nuances he portrays as Lee Min Suk are priceless! And yes, I pretty much squealed and grinned into my pillow throughout Episode 9! LOL!

        Only said:
        July 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm

        Excellent… something to look forward to! He’s so great in this. I can’t imagine who else could have pulled this off.

    Arisya Hanifah said:
    July 16, 2014 at 11:28 am

    I’ve watched ep 10 and the story become more complicated. Cant wait for next week!

      chom2 responded:
      July 16, 2014 at 11:37 am

      I was stalking the Soompi Forum thread and had an idea what unfolded in ep 10 (BITING MY FINGERNAILS!)..
      Somehow, I feel like I’m standing on the precipice of the bungee platform and there’s no where else to go but into the unknown… and it’s only 5 more days to the next chapter. Ottoke?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

