Eats @ BEAM

Posted on Updated on

Before I begin to Spazz and reach out for an oxygen mask, I need to thank my friend Ken Ong who introduced me to this instantaneous-fave-Java-Jointย  ๐Ÿ˜€

 

 

All he said was “It’s in the industrial part of town where the old SSF (local home furnishing store) was. Just key in the address into Waze and you’ll get there safely. Be there early too coz it gets packed real fast especially on a weekend.”

Saturday is FINALLY here! ๐Ÿ˜„

As I neared the end of my Waze-assisted journey, I began to seriously question the app’s accuracy because all I could see were the backs of many workshops. There were even mini tractors parked on the side of the road. Crikey.

But when I reached at the end of the lane, I looked to my right and saw that nondescript facade of the new-kid-on-the-caffeine-block: BEAM.

Peel your eyes for this entrance :)
Peel your eyes for this entrance ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Ken was still on his way when I arrived, so I was immediately in my “Documentary” mode..

Beam_03

Beam_04

Beam_05

Happily snapping away, I noticed a white car backing up into the main entrance of BEAM. A couple of ladies began unloading the familar-looking yellow trays loaded with desserts. Hang on a minute. They’re likely far from opening hours. Oh Dear! o_O

However, after asking for permission, they graciously allowed us to kill time within their premises while they set up shop.

AND I WAS SIMPLY AGOG.
MAJOR SPAZZING BEGAN!

Beam_06

Merchandising corner
Merchandising corner
Cold Drip mechanism: Functional and Decorative at the same time :)
Cold Drip mechanism: Functional and Decorative at the same time ๐Ÿ™‚
What a sight!
What a sight!
Literature corner
Literature corner
Towards the back of the house is a mini sitting area, central spot for extra cutlery and napkins, and the main counter
Towards the back of the house is a mini sitting area, central spot for extra cutlery and napkins, and the main counter
Other early birds too refuge in this ultra-industrial-chic joint
Other early birds too refuge in this ultra-industrial-chic joint
I KNOW where your eyes zoomed in! LOL! The sublime dessert on the left is ALWAYS Sold Out. Be sure to grab it if it's still available at the counter.
I KNOW where your eyes zoomed in! LOL! The sublime dessert on the left is ALWAYS Sold Out. Be sure to grab it if it’s still available at the counter.
Don't be fooled by that innocent-looking "Kalipok" (ie "Karipap" or "Curry Puff")... the pastry is KRr-UnnCHhilicious!
Don’t be fooled by that innocent-looking “Kalipok” (ie “Karipap” or “Curry Puff”)… the pastry is KRr-UnnCHhilicious!
Yup. You can even roast your preferred beans!
Yup. You can even roast your preferred beans!
...Or rather, they'll roast your java beans for you :)
…Or rather, they’ll roast your java beans for you ๐Ÿ™‚
In-house Barista's command center :D
In-house Barista’s command center ๐Ÿ˜€
Tools of the Trade
Tools of the Trade
One in Action!
One in Action!
If you need to cleanse you palette or just feeling parched, help yourselves at the H2O point
If you need to cleanse you palette or just feeling parched, help yourselves at the H2O point. Love the “Kettle Wall Lamp”!
Aaaah! Nothing beats refreshing H2O :)
Aaaah! Nothing beats refreshing H2O ๐Ÿ™‚
Ground level seating area filled with bespoke furnishings <3
Ground level seating area filled with bespoke furnishings โค
Up on the Mezzanine level, more seating to the left...
Up on the Mezzanine level, more seating to the left…
I can see Apprentice setting up camp somewhere here...
I can see Apprentice setting up camp somewhere here…
Love the mural along the wall...
Love the mural along the wall…

Beam_25

The other side on Mezzanine floor..
The other side on Mezzanine floor..
Ken doing his own thang while I scurry around like a caffeinated chipmunk XD
Ken doing his own thang while I scurry around like a caffeinated chipmunk ๐Ÿ˜„
Love their attention to detail! And it blew my mind when the Manager said all interior fittings were done by the own people, no Designers involved! GREAT JOB, peeps!
Love their attention to detail! And it blew my mind when the Manager said all interior fittings were done by the own people, no Designers involved! GREAT JOB, peeps!
Such meticulous care even to a humble wall lamp speaks volume of the Love they have in their enterprise
Such meticulous care even to a humble wall lamp speaks volume of the Love they have in their enterprise

 

OK! OK! Time for some Food Pics ๐Ÿ˜„

It was Such a production having two avid photographers spending a lot of time prepping, composing, editing our Dishes despite feigning the hunger pangs away! LOL!!

Did I mention how detailed they are? Served a local snack in a local manner (ie banana leaf to soak the oil in an enamel side plate). How CUTE is That?!
Did I mention how detailed they are? Served a local snack in a local manner (ie banana leaf to soak the oil in an enamel side plate). How CUTE is That?!
Coffee has not met Tea yet... (yes, I was clapping my hands silly in excitement of its cuteness)... had trouble calming down!
Coffee has not met Tea yet… (yes, I was clapping my hands silly in excitement of its cuteness)… had trouble calming down!
THIS is when Coffee Meets Tea... and I understand why this baby FLIES off the counter at lightspeed...
THIS is when Coffee Meets Tea… and I understand why this baby FLIES off the counter at lightspeed…
Chocolate and Cheese + Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate shavings... 'nuffsaid.
Chocolate and Cheese + Vanilla Ice Cream with Chocolate shavings… ’nuffsaid.

 

Oh. My. LORD.

A definite return to this SANCTUARY! Many thanks to Manager Sky who allowed us to inhale the awesomeness of BEAM before the crowd descended. Thank you “Mushroom” who served our delectable goodies and even explained how to fully appreciate consuming the Coffee Meets Tea dessert (note to Ken: please abandon your diet day when we come here again ๐Ÿ˜€ ).

The folks at BEAM certainly know their product as they’ve been in the coffee distribution business for over 30 years. You can inquire details on “barista” lessons, and they will certainly share their knowledge of java libations with the yet to be connoisseurs ๐Ÿ™‚

And yes, Apprentice has been nagging me to bring her over for a cuppa ๐Ÿ˜„

Waze It!
No. 25, Jalan Gangsa SD5/3B,
Bandar Sri Damansara,
52200 Kuala Lumpur

 

Ratings:ย  OMGFRwTS! (Oh My Gawd Freakin’ Redonkulous with Triple Snaps) โค โค โค

7 thoughts on “Eats @ BEAM

    Ken Ong said:
    August 11, 2014 at 7:01 am

    Didn’t know I was captured and been framed too… LOL now worries… I found another new place…we’ll definitely have another coffee session again soon. #DontGetTooSpazzPlease hahahaha

      chom2 responded:
      August 11, 2014 at 7:05 am

      Can’t help the spazz when I see Awesomeness Galore! It’s ok, you can step aside and pretend you don’t know me when I slide in that mode ๐Ÿ˜„

        Ken Ong said:
        August 14, 2014 at 3:39 pm

        damn… i’m cravings for their kalipok man…

        chom2 responded:
        August 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

        MWUAHAHAHAHAHA ๐Ÿ˜€

    mylovebuggeroos said:
    August 11, 2014 at 11:20 am

    I am so jealous right now!!

      chom2 responded:
      August 11, 2014 at 11:23 am

      Don’t be. This Java Sanctuary is the only one of it’s kind in my neck of the woods! LOL!

        mylovebuggeroos said:
        August 12, 2014 at 1:33 am

        The only coffee joint around me is…starbucks. I hate starbucks, actually I boycott starbucks. YUCK. You are so dang lucky, I would totally hang out there and read a cook. Perhaps it would encourage me to read more! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

